Magnify

And Mary said: “My soul magnifies the Lord,
And my spirit has rejoiced in God my Savior.

Luke 1:46 (NKJV)

My mind magnifies self
My knowledge, my accomplishments
I think of how to please others
I think on what they think of me

My so called “strength” magnifies self
My beauty, my health
My blemishes, my imperfections
All the time comparing

My heart magnifies self
I love, I give, I hurt
I loathe, I grudge, I build a hedge
Walls of stone surround and suffocate

My soul tries to magnify the Lord
Like the girl, Mary, who went before
Surely she walked the same road
Of mind, body, and heart betrayal

Forgiveness He offers, loving all of me
From within my soul He saves me
Time and time again
Winning back my mind, strength, heart

My soul, I gladly call “His soul”
The creator of wisdom, beauty, love
Rejoicing refines thoughts of self
Lord, let me magnify You

Leave a Reply

