Pi Day

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I set my alarm. I prepped my sisters and my friends. I wouldn’t let Hannah start her prom preperations until she celebrated this moment with me. It was the pi moment of the century. 3-14-15 at 9:26.53.

I love little moments of celebration. I’m not particularly fond of math in the way some people are. In fact, I paused my reading of Wordsworth so that I could celebrate a number (all my English loving friends shudder). I don’t understand the complexities of pi or all that knowing the radius of the ratio of the circumference of a circle to its diameter really does for us.

But, on some level, I understand that pi is irrational and transcendental. It continues infinitely without pausing or repeating itself. Pi is constant. No matter the size of the circle, pi will be the same.

This early Saturday morning, I ponder eternity and I realize that pi is a symbol of God. He is above all, transcendental and awe inspiring. His actions are not always rational; He sent his perfect son to die so that He could make children of sinners. He continues forever, he has always been, so he is infinite. Though the world changes, He is constant.

Ecclesiastes 3:11 says that “He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.”

God gives us glimpses of eternity. Some of these glimpses come through equations and ratios. The greatest minds meet the challenge of figuring out this little bit of eternity, pi. But these glimpses come through little moments as well.

9:26 passed quickly. Hannah and I shouted in celebration. And then it was over. Another Spring break draws to a close. It was a beautiful week, filled with fishing, games, long walks, cows, and the best friendships I could imagine.

I’m an hour counter. Before I sleep, I count the hours I will be asleep and either applaud or lecture myself for healthy or unwise resting habits. I count out the minutes I need to spend doing this homework and the hours that it will take to be at this event. But this week, as we slept by the fire in a beautiful cabin, I did not need to count hours. I woke when I woke. I slept when I slept, and I laughed when I laughed—without thought beyond the moment. Eternity felt a little closer and little things like hours became less important.

It won’t be long until we’re back at school. It won’t be long until we’re graduating, attending each other’s weddings, until I’m watching my sisters graduate college, until I’m cuddling nieces and nephews. It won’t be long until I pass from this world of limits and gain a complete understanding of infinity, until I stop counting hours and I really know what God means when he makes everything beautiful in its time.

But until then, I’ll know that God has set eternity in my heart. He’s gifted me with the Spirit. I can’t begin to understand, but I can celebrate all that I don’t know. Pi, laughter, love. Because until time meets eternity, these things and the infinite Creator of these things are what makes the world go round.

Stephanie took a picture while we discussed life from three enos. A glimpse of eternity.

Stephanie took a picture while we discussed life from three enos. A glimpse of eternity.

Leave a Reply

