Power Outage

12751098_1029587853767992_1971409086_n

Silence woke me

Then there were the beeps

Of life leaving appliances

Buzzing in the hallway

A weeping fire alarm

 

My roommates, eyes blurry

Greeted each other in the

Shelter of the dark doors

Questions filled the quiet

Is school cancelled?

 

The answer at first disappointed

To bed we did not return

A plate of apples, peanut butter

And friendship

Was our feast instead

 

I washed my face by flashlight

Strange glows on the mirror

The darkness reminds me

How well and how poorly

I know my life’s path

 

The wind echoes loud

In the eclipse of the halls

In the shadows of silence

I realize just how dependent

I am

On Power

Leave a Reply

